Mad Tea Party, The

This short, crazy piece for violin and piano was written for "Wonderland", a project created to raise money for the Lenny Trusler Children’s Foundation and to celebrate the 150th anniversary of Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. It juxtaposes characters and themes from the book’s seventh chapter, “The Mad Tea Party”: the clock eternally standing still at six o’clock when it’s time for tea; the Dormouse always falling asleep; the riddles of the Hatter and the March Hare; Alice’s bewilderment and annoyance; and all are tossed together with a little musical help from Vincent Youmans and Johannes Brahms.

Price £11.95

  • UK: Click here to buy from the Faber Music website
  • Rest of the World: Click here to find a local agent

Composer: Hough, Stephen b. 1961

Genre: Instrumental, Accompanied

Format / Instrumentation
Violin and Piano


Josef Weinberger