by Cullen, Andrew

  • pig's ear new

Genre: Comedy

Cast 5 male 5 female

Length Full

Set Composite

Licence World ex. US & Canada

ISBN 9780856762246

On the eve of the 1979 General Election, a family gathers to watch the results. And again in 1983, 1987 and 1992. In four acts, over the results of four elections, Cullen’s black comedy travels through thirteen years of personal and political drama, where the ups and downs of family members are reflected not only in the changes of the political tide, but the cultural changes as well. Set in four parts of the house — the living room, kitchen, bedroom and garden — we meet Pat, who dreams of being a cleaner; Helen, middle class and all for equal opportunities; Elizabeth, the family’s matriarch; and her sons Richard, the true blue Tory self-made man and his wife Carol; Eddie and his girlfriend Helen, and Pat’s husband Billy, a strong supporter of the unions. Their daughter Alice starts off a punk rebel of the 70’s and ends up a teacher playing socialist monopoly with Simon, Richard and Carol’s son as we complete the circle from Jim Callaghan through Margaret Thatcher to John Major. Packed with splendid dialogue and characters, Pig’s Ear is a delightful look back over the highs and lows of the Thatcher years, and the changing face of a nation.


Book sales are now via our distribution partners at Central Books. Please browse the full list here. (We are updating our site to link to each title on their store.)